NaNoWriMo · Writing

The NaNo Diaries – Day Five: Control Issues

Word Count: 14,826/50,000

Insanity Level (1-10): 6. “I could be a trip but I choose not to…” — Pebbles

What I Like: My characters are developing personalities.

What I Hate: MY CHARACTERS ARE DEVELOPING PERSONALITIES.

I’ll explain…

So, I’m about eight and a half chapters deep into my first draft and I think I have a pretty good grasp on my main three characters:

  • I understand that Zoe, my MC, is abrasive, says ‘fuck’ a lot, and has some intense issues with men (specifically her freshly-married ex).
  • I understand that Ben, her BFF, loves women almost as much as he loves making money and has doubts about Zoe’s emotional stability.
  • I understand that Nick, the Ken Doll object of Zoe’s affections, doesn’t show his hand and has a ball engaging in the timeless Battle of the Sexes.

And because I understand all of these aspects of these three distinct characters, they’ve taken advantage of me and are running free on the page. WHOA!

Without going into any inappropriate detail (NOTE: My idea of ‘inappropriate’ will likely differ from yours.), I have control issues in many sectors of my life. My schedule at my day job is color-coded in order of importance. Unlike my husband, I need to delete shows I’ve watched off of the DVR. I am a devout planner and could never imagine going into a first draft without a six-part outline. I put a lot of thought into my plot sequence during NaNo Prep but one thing I always forget when I’m in The Zone is that no matter what you have planned for a character…they do whatever the hell they want.

I know I’m not the only writer who loves/hates when their characters go rogue. If you wish to be brave, tell me how you herd the cats back into your plot so that your story can pop!

(c) Eliza David – FacebookTwitterInstagram

 

Leave a Reply

