BrewGirl

If I Were A Boy: Meet Nick Webster

It’s no secret that I write primarily for the free-spirited woman.

Women who likes to throw the word ‘fuck’ around in social circles. 
Women who know how to stand up in the boardroom & how to surrender in the bedroom.
Women who enjoy orgasms with or without a partner.
Women who just enjoy being women because feminine sensuality is unmatched. 

Chicks. Dames. Broads. Ladies. Bitches: Definitely my choice topic of narrative.

My choice topic of dialogue, however, belongs to the boys.

girls-swooning-gif

What can I say? Men excite me: the gait of their stance, their tendency to want to ‘fix’ everything, their fragile egos (my personal favorite aspect), and the way they can annoy and seduce you simultaneously.  Hell, I like them so much, I married one and gave birth to another.  They say the darnedest things and some of those things often find their way into the mouths of my made-up males.

As a woman, it’s easy for the words of CeeCee, Laney, Zoe, and my other female players to flow from my fingertips.  It can get a little pedantic at times because I’ve had some of those conversations in my real life.  So you can imagine that stepping into the voice of a man brings me a certain thrill (and challenge) when I try to create authentic dialogue for my male characters.

Jay Weston, the male lead of my first series, was – at his core – a sensitive, caring, and loving soul.  He, like most of us, had his demons; he was orphaned as a toddler, never knew his birth mother, met his birth father in an…untraditional manner, was a little bit of an alcoholic, and had a jealous streak hotter than the lovemaking he often engaged in with main character CeeCee Banks.  Love him or loathe him, Jay had a good heart that he often left on his sleeve or used as currency to control CeeCee – but it was all in the name of crazy, sexy love.

As is my goal with my female characters, I attempt to give the boys of the Cougarette series complexity and richness.  Bryce Costas wasn’t a typical billionaire romantic savior (not by a LONG SHOT!), Lionel Banks shoved CeeCee’s daddy issues right in the reader’s face, and Billy BadAss was made of many layers we’ve seen in real-life tragic pop culture icons.

But sales ingénue Nick Webster of BrewGirl?  Well…take a look at this short bio for yourself:

Meet Nick Webster

Yeah, girl.  He ain’t no Jay Weston.

I have to be completely honest with you: Nick did not come out of my little literary head like this.  Building the L.A. Lothario was an exercise of artistic proportion.  While selecting a celebrity muse for him was easy, the words that would escape his pouty lips eluded me.  For the first time, I found myself conducting dialogue-specific research for a character because I wanted to be accurate in how I presented Mr. Webster.  Via social media and good old-fashioned texting, I interviewed three men I could envision hanging out with a guy like Nick: players, bros, lovers-and-leavers.

These conversations gave me an insight into the world of dating, singledom, and a segment of male behavior I thought was extinct.  Keep in mind that I’ve been married for over a decade, so some of the stories they shared about their sexual conquests left my mouth gaping.  It made me question the sanity of both men and women.  And yes, I found myself judging the shit out of both genders.  I left each of my interviews with a series of questions bumping around in my head:

Are men like them, like Nick, dangerous?  Seductive? Charming? Devious? 

Are the women that fall for them in it for the thrill, for the ride?

Or is this particular set of women just that fucking dumb?

Hopefully, BrewGirl (which drops on February 20th) will answer any and all of these questions through its narrative.  In the meantime, let’s allow Nick Webster to dwell in your free spiritedness.

Just don’t fall in love with him.

(c) Eliza David – FacebookTwitterInstagram

 

Leave a Reply

