Author Spotlight

Author Spotlight: My Chat with MoGeSu

How did steamy writer MoGeSu end up in my Author Spotlight? To begin with, I was very impressed by her Amazon page.  With only her debut release out, MoGeSu includes personal quotes and video blogging on her profile – definitely eye-catching! Her book, Dreams Really Do Come True, tells the story of Dorian Parks, a career-driven single lady who literally dreams up the perfect man.  All is fine and dandy until she meets the object of her nocturnal desires in real life. Yowza!

MoGeSu is visiting the blog to tell us a bit about her writing style, her literary influences, and why writing about self-empowerment for women is so important to her.

Hi, thanks for agreeing to this interview.  In a few sentences, tell us a little about yourself.

I’m Monica Sumter aka MoGeSu, which is a combination of the first two letters of my first, middle, and last names. I decided to use a pen name because I didn’t want my parents to know what type of books I write! I’m the younger of two girls and I have a daughter of my own. In addition to writing, I also want to use get into motivational speaking, create my own clothing line, and several other things that are all geared towards women empowerment and the betterment of our future.

How long have you been writing?

Since 7th grade but professionally since 2006.

Why did you decide to become a writer?

I didn’t. It was honestly a talent I didn’t realize I had.

Tell us about your last/latest project.

Truly Yours is the sequel to Dreams Really Do Come True.  It continues telling the story about life after the bad boy gets the good girl.

Who is your ideal reader?

Hopeless romantics that appreciate not just the love in the story, but the trials and tribulations that the characters have to actually go through to get to the love.

How do you create your characters and build your worlds? Are you a planner or a pantser?

Definitely a pantser. I never know how these stories are going to end. When I’m writing I am normally just as anxious to get to the end to find out what happens as the reader when they are reading it!

~ Writing down your thoughts, hopes, dreams and secrets can be an amazing way of cleansing your soul ~

Who do you consider your literary influences?

Zane, Eric Jerome Dickey, E. Lynn Harris (RIP)…I love their boldness. I can clearly envision the scenes their books create. They write about things others wouldn’t dare. They made it okay to not only think about such erotic and self empowering sexuality but to actually write it down and discuss it takes it to a whole other level.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

Making sure it doesn’t start off slow. Keeping it high energy and interesting. Not revealing too much too soon. Making sure all the bases are covered and the readers aren’t left confused at the end.

Name your best writing tips.

Don’t trust your memory. Write everything down. Write with your heart & soul, not your mind. Step back when you need to. Sometimes trying to write under pressure shows up in your work. Take a minute to regroup and get your creative juices flowing again. I’ve taken months long breaks before. The sequel to Dreams Really Do Come True and I’ve possibly had the vision for book number three.Nothing. No time! LOLDo it!! Writing is a great form of communication. Even if it’s not for publishing purposes, writing down your thoughts, hopes, dreams and secrets can be an amazing way of cleansing your soul.

MoGeSu Book Cover

Thanks for joining us today, MoGeSu.  Readers, feel free to stalk this sexy author at the following links:

Blog: http://www.author-mogesu.blogspot.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/author.mogesu    

Amazon:  www.amazon.com/author/mogesu

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/author.mogesu

 

(c) Eliza David – FacebookTwitterInstagram

Leave a Reply

