Author Spotlight

Author Spotlight: My Chat with Phoenix Williams

One of my favorite indie authors that I’ve had the pleasure of connecting with is Phoenix Williams.  Born and raised in the Midwest (like myself), she has a knack for creating sexy characters with wild backstories!  From her To Love A No Good Nigga trilogy to Foolin’ Around: King and Reign – the first book of her latest Sex, Lies, & Friendship series, Phoenix gives her devoted readers a mix of sex, crime, and intrigue in every one of her pages.

Read on to get some insight into Phoenix’s dark erotic writing style and why she says that building a brand is so essential if you want to succeed in the indie book-slanging game. (WARNING: NSFW)

foolin around 4

Hi, thanks for agreeing to this interview.  In a few sentences, tell us a little about yourself.

Well, I was raised in Illinois – right outside of Chicago. I have been an avid reader since I was a child. In my spare time, I binge-watch animes and cartoons. I’m pretty much a nerd.

How long have you been writing?

I feel like I’ve always been a writer. However, I’ve been writing professionally for four years now.

Why did you decide to become a writer?

I’ve read so many books that I felt like I could do it, too. I have an overactive imagination, so writing was a natural fit.

Tell us about your latest project.

The Sex, Lies, & Friendship series is my latest project. The first book in the series is Foolin’ Around: King and Reign. This series centers on several friends that are beginning to find love while dealing with past hurts and betrayals. If I had to categorize this series, I’d say it’s a dark erotic romance.

Who is your ideal reader?

My ideal reader is someone who isn’t afraid to push past their own boundaries and try something new. If you have a semi-dirty mind, then you’ll love my books.

feel as good

How do you create your characters and build your worlds? Are you a planner or a pantser?

I’m a planning pantser, if that’s a thing. Usually I have a general idea of where the story will go, but I’ll change it at the drop of a dime. The characters usually just pop into my head and tell me how they want their story to go.

Who do you consider your literary influences?

Mary B. Morrison and Adrianne Byrd have had a huge influence on me.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

Getting started is the hardest part! There are so many distractions in everyday life. There are moments where I have to literally lock myself in a room to get started.

~ Do not come into this thinking you’ll drop a book on Monday and be on the New York Times’ Bestseller List on Thursday ~

Name three of your best writing tips.

    1. Use Beta Readers. They will give you their full opinion before you drop the book.
    2. If it doesn’t scare you then you’re doing it wrong.
    3. Write what hurts.

What are you working on now?

I just finished Foolin’ Around: Marcus and Shelby (Sex, Lies, and Friendship – Part 2).  Now I’m working on the third book in that series.

What are you currently reading?

I just downloaded the Cougarette series and I’m getting ready to start on that.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Hustle. Hard. Do not come into this thinking you’ll drop a book on Monday and be on the New York Times’ Bestseller List on Thursday. That is not how real life works. You have to put in the time, work, and money to build a brand. It will be hard but you will feel so accomplished when you finally get your top-selling book.

 

bio pic

Thanks for joining us today, Phoenix.  Readers, feel free to stalk this sexy author at the following links:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/phoenixwilliams01

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/Phoenix_William

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Phoenix-Williams/e/B0095I13OU/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/PhoenixWilliamsBooks

(c) Eliza David – FacebookTwitterInstagram

 

 

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight: My Chat with Phoenix Williams

  1. Nice Author Spotlight. I look the part of the interview where she stated write what hurts. When you write from that place of hurt its the most authenticate, real and raw and folks can relate to it. Nothing like sister support each other

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

